Re-posting Reviews

I’ve not been keeping up with re-posting ‘reviews’ I’ve written on recent books I’ve read, so, to recap (and to do a little self-promotion and to re-direct traffic to my own blog), here is a list of my recent reviews, and a link for the full articles.

The Imperfectionists – Tom Rachman

What can I really say about The Imperfectionists that hasn’t already been said by countless reviewers?  Tom Rachman’s debut novel, published in 2010 was lauded by many readers, critics, and reviewers in literary circles.

(to read more, click here)

In The Woods – Tana French

Tana French‘s In The Woods, is a murder-mystery novel about Police Detective Adam Robert Ryan, who, as a boy was the sole survivor of an unsolved, mysterious crime – the disappearance, and possibly murder, of his two friends, which occurred in the woods near his community.

Having no memory of what happened that tragic day, Robert Adam Ryan learned to cope and get over the incident by moving out of the community, attending board school, and later, dropping his first name altogether.

(more on how much I hated this book, here)

The Book of Lost Things – John Connolly

Imagine being able to hear your books whisper their stories in your ear; of being able to magically step into the world of your favorite books, where fantasy become reality.

Welcome to David’s strange and wonderful world – where books talk and argue with each other, and where fairytales come alive…literally.

(curious? Click)

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet – David Mitchell

It took me a few days to get over the feeling left by David Mitchell‘s The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet. Usually, after finishing a book, I’d jump right in to the next one, but I couldn’t quite shake off Jacob de Zoet. Even now, when I think back on it, I get a strange feeling of sadness.

After I bought this book, it sat on my shelf, unread, for almost a year.   I tried (and failed) to read it a couple of times, but I couldn’t really get into the story.  I decided to try again mid May, when I was sort of in a slump and couldn’t think of anything else to read.

I didn’t really know what to expect from Jacob de Zoet, and the information  on the blurb at the back of the book didn’t say much.  Diving into the book, head first, without a clue, I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

 (Why I think this is the best book I’ve read in 2012…)

Black Swan Green – David Mitchell

Am I the only one in the world who doesn’t think this book is amazing?

From all the reviews I’ve read, it looks that way.

(Why I’m not so crazy about Black Swan Green….)

and finally – the most recent review…a non-fiction:

Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers – Mary Roach

Ever wonder how car manufacturers develop life-saving technologies such as air bags and seatbelts, or how the latest surgical methods are tested?

Or how doctors came to learn about the workings of the human body and how to go about saving lives?

You may or may not have heard, but a lot of innovations in the field of medicine, forensics, technology, and even ballistics and weaponry, have been brought about with the help of human cadavers.

In her non-fiction novel, Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human CadaversMary Roach takes a light, funny approach in educating the world about the importance of human cadavers and their tremendous contributions to science and technology.

(Learn more about the fascinating uses of dead people…)

Leave a Reply

