It’s the end of the world as we know it…and I feel fine.

"It was a nice day. All the days had been nice. There had been rather more than seven of them so far, and rain hadn't been invented yet."

Having recently read several serious books back to back, I felt the growing need to get rid of the gloom hanging over me left over from Rushdie, Hugo and Hosseini, so I decided that for my next book, I would read something light and easy.

I went with Neil Gaiman and Terry Prachett’s cult classic, Good Omens, about the birth of the anti-christ and Armageddon.  Like I said, light and easy!

The story about the war between heaven and hell and the end of the world has never been this funny!  It is a “laugh out loud” story about the efforts exerted by angels, demons, witches, witchfinders, satanic nuns, horsepeople, seers, mediums and other strange people  to help young Adam, the spawn of Satan, fulfil his destiny in bringing about Armageddon.

One of the funniest and most entertaining books I’ve ever read – a perfect book to start the new year.

Rating:  3/5

 

One thought on “It’s the end of the world as we know it…and I feel fine.

  1. I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one these days..

Leave a Reply

